Pin Happy Girl

Using Pinterest to Save Money, Time, and Live Life Large

Snowman Oreo Pops – Failure Can Be Fun

on February 6, 2013

As I’ve said before, I have certain unhealthy foods that can really make me lose my self-control. One of those is Oreos. I think they must have cocaine in them.

My daughter and I wanted a fun and easy winter treat. This pin seemed to fit the bill, and incorporated my addiction. What could be better?!

snoworeopoppin

It’s from the Idea Room.

The recipe only calls for a few ingredients:Double-Stuff Oreos (yum!), white chocolate candy melt, mini-chocolate chips and candy corn.

oreosnowpopingre

The first thing you do sounds deceiving simple. You insert the Popsicle sticks into the Oreos.

Sounds easy, right? But when we tried it, the outer cookies popped apart almost every time. No matter what my daughter and I tried, how we held the Oreo – gently, firmly, from one side or the other, it popped apart or one side of the cookie cracked at least a little.

We finally did get a number of them in but, barely, and boy, it wasn’t easy!)

Next, you melt the candy melts and dip the Oreos in the melted candy. Sounds easy, too, right? Wrong!

When I dipped the Oreos in the candy, the sides of the cookie came apart and fell off the Popsicle sticks or broke into pieces. It just got worse with each dip.

Survey the devastation:

oreosnowpopbad

The good news is that though they were a mess, that made it more fun. The worse they came out of the chocolate, the more we laughed. The more atrocious the battlefield of Oreo pops looked, the funnier it was. We had a great time.

The other good news: As ugly as they were, they tasted great! I wondered what the combination of Oreos, mini chocolate chips, white chocolate candy melt and candy corn would taste like. One word: Awesome! My family devoured the mutant snowmen laughing all the way to gastric heaven.

On a skill level, this project would be categorized as high. On a fun level, this project is high, also.

In the end, I gave up on the Popsicle sticks and dipped the Oreos by themselves. That was a little easier.

oreosnowpopdone

He’s not a pop but he’s still cute, right?

Until next time, happy pinning!

Shelly

Would you like to stay up-to-date on all my latest posts? Follow me on Facebook or click “follow my blog via email.”

3 responses to “Snowman Oreo Pops – Failure Can Be Fun

  1. Lesley says:

    I enjoy your posts so much! 🙂 Your honesty is refreshing and I love that you had fun with this anyway! I just want to let you know that I’ve nominated you for The Sunshine Award. It’s just a little blogger award that recognizes and shares favorite blogs. You may already have one and, if so, now you have another. You can get more info here: http://lolarugula.com/2013/02/06/the-sunshine-award/
    Thanks for being a fun blog to follow!

  2. Just wanted to drop a comment to say Hello! I found you through BloggyMoms(Ohio). I am a fellow Ohio blogger. These cookies look so cute!

Leave a Reply

