Pin Happy Girl

Using Pinterest to Save Money, Time, and Live Life Large

Oven Window Cleaner – Works When Nothing Else Will!

on February 4, 2013

Well, now that my oven racks are clean and the inside of my oven is clean, it’s time to do something about that oven window. I mean the thing is practically worthless now because it is so dirty from years of cooking. My door might as well be solid.

I’ve tried detergents and scrubbing with gentle scratchy pads, but that hasn’t worked.

Pinterest offers a number of solutions, but this pin seems to be the most popular.

ovenwindowpin

It comes from the One Butt Kitchen blog. (Don’t ask me about the name; I have no idea!)

Here’s what I was up against.

ovenwindowmess

I took this picture immediately after I cleaned my oven, which was also supposed to clean my oven window. Obviously that did not work, and it needs some major help. Yuck!!

The instructions are to mix a quarter cup of baking soda with enough water to make a paste and then smear it on the window.

ovenwindowpaste

Simple enough. I waited the 20 minutes, as instructed and rinsed off a small section with warm water and a sponge, as instructed. But it looked exactly like it did before I started, so I scrubbed it with a gentle plastic scrubber sponge and tried again. No good.

I rinsed it all off, and I thought I was doomed, until my husband gave me a fantastic idea. He found a tool that we’ve used for scraping paint from windows and suggested I use it.

It was a miracle. All of the grime came off easily and in a matter of minutes.

Here is the final result.

ovenwindowclean

The tool in the picture is what we used. As you can see, it’s seen better days at our house. The tool is called a safety scraper, and you can buy the one below for $3 at Home Depot.

razorscraper

My oven is finally looking good from top to bottom! What to tackle next? Any ideas?

Until next time, happy pinning!

Shelly

Would you like to stay up-to-date on all my latest posts? Follow me on Facebook or click “follow my blog via email.”

2 responses to “Oven Window Cleaner – Works When Nothing Else Will!

  1. Lesley says:

    Those little scrapers have saved me on many household chores but this is one I hadn’t considered…thanks! p.s….I hate cleaning my oven. 🙂

Leave a Reply

