Pin Happy Girl

Using Pinterest to Save Money, Time, and Live Life Large

Clean Your Oven – Easy and with No Harsh Chemicals

on January 28, 2013

If you’re a regular reader of my blog, you know I have some newly clean oven racks. But, my oven itself is a mess. I needed a way to clean it while staying true to my credo of not using harsh chemicals in my home. This pin held hope.

cleanovenpin

This pin comes from instructables.com.

Could this really work for my oven? My son’s favorite food is pizza. (He makes a mean homemade pizza.) But pizzas drip and cause a mess in the oven.

ovencleanbef1

That’s a nasty before shot of my oven bottom with all the pizza droppings. Here’s the door.

ovencleanbef2

First I gently scraped the bottom of the oven with a metal spatula. I used a paper towel to gather the scraped off pieces of charred food.

Next, I put about a cup of baking soda on the bottom and door of my oven per the instructions, and then sprayed vinegar from a squirt bottle onto the baking soda. I attempted to mix the baking soda and vinegar on the bottom of the oven as best I could and take some of that mixture and smear it onto the sides.

Hindsight is 20/20, but I think it would have been easier to use the second option given and mix the ingredients together outside the oven and then apply it as a paste.

I let it sit for 20 minutes.

ovencleandur

After sitting, I scrubbed with a Brillo steel wool pad in a circular motion (except, of course, for the window!). My oven looks pretty good.

ovencleanbefaft

Some baked on grime still existed, but the majority was gone.

The one thing that didn’t come clean was the oven window. Yuck! Now I know what I’m working on next week!

ovenwindowmess

Do you have cleaning jobs planned this week?

Until next time, happy pinning!

Shelly

Would you like to stay up-to-date on all my latest posts? Follow me on Facebook or click “follow my blog via email.”

Leave a Reply

