Pin Happy Girl

Using Pinterest to Save Money, Time, and Live Life Large

Product Reviews: Lose It! App

on January 18, 2013

Yes, I am trying to lose some weight. If you are one of my regular readers you already know that. (And are also probably asking, so what’s with all the brownie and cupcake recipes, huh?)

So, this pin caught my eye:

loseitapppin

I have been using this smart phone app Lose It for two weeks. My goal has been to lose a pound a week, and so far I have lost four pounds. Yes, I’m ahead of schedule!

Lose It has you log the food you eat every day. You can search a database of foods. It is impressively thorough, and includes most restaurants and brands of foods you find in the grocery store. It also has a “My Food” section where it stores foods you have already added so you can easily get to foods that you eat frequently. You can also enter recipes, and it will calculate the calories for you. It even lets you scan a barcode. Cool, huh?

You also log your exercise, and you get extra calories to eat for the day based on the type of exercise you do and how long you do it.

The app even tells you the percentage of certain nutrients, like sodium, protein and fat, that you have taken in for the day.

The program has more features online that allow you to connect with others. For example, you can take on challenges. My current challenges are the Downton Abbey Hobbledehoy Loggers, where you see who can log their food the most days during the entire season of Downton Abbey (I LOVE Downton Abbey!) and the Green Giant Vegetable Challenge which gives you one point for every 30 calories of vegetables you eat every day.

I sincerely hope that these challenges and the interactive features will win out over my chocoholic, sweets-loving side. So far, I really like it.

Until next time, happy pinning!

Shelly

Leave a Reply

