Pin Happy Girl

Using Pinterest to Save Money, Time, and Live Life Large

Homemade Cheeseburger Macaroni Hamburger Helper – Even Better Than the Original

on January 9, 2013

I hate to admit this, but I really like Cheeseburger Macaroni Hamburger Helper. It’s so cheesy and salty and gooey. And it reminds me of being a kid. And it’s easy and cheap. And sometimes I’m lazy and cheap.

But I hate buying processed food. It’s really not that good tasting, and it’s really not that good for you. The boxes are full of sodium and artificial flavors and colors. They usually don’t contain much in the way of fiber or nutrients. So, I like to cook from scratch as much as possible.

However, sometimes I still crave some particular packaged, processed food that I am especially fond of, like Cheeseburger Macaroni Hamburger Helper. (I’m not alone on this, right, guys?) That’s why I was intrigued by this pin:

hamhelppin

It’s from the Daily Unadventures in Cooking blog. Visit this terrific blog for the recipe.

The recipe calls for ground beef, milk and pasta. We used the extra lean ground beef, skim milk and SmartTaste pasta, which is whole grain, to make the recipe as healthy as possible. The recipe also calls for hot smoked paprika. I didn’t have that, so we used regular paprika and a pinch of hot pepper. Here are all the ingredients I used.

hamhelping

The instructions said to use a Dutch oven, but I chose to cook everything except the pasta in a large skillet.

hamhelpcook

Because we used lean ground beef, we didn’t have as much fat left over as the recipe asked for, so we had to add some. We added about one third butter and two thirds olive oil.  Finishing it was easy enough.  We used two different types of pastas that we had left over – penne and egg noodles. They worked together well, but many pastas would work with this recipe.

hamhelpcooked

We didn’t add salt, but let everyone salt it to their tastes.

hamhelpserve

This recipe knocked it out of the park. The photo cannot reflect how delectable the dish is. Both the taste and texture is superior to Hamburger Helper. Even heated up the next day, it wasn’t dry and bland.

But heed my warning: You will eat too much of this! This homemade Hamburger Helper is wonderfully cheesy, gooey warm comfort food that is not bad for you, so it’s super addictive. I couldn’t stop myself!

Do you have a processed food that you love? Do you have a homemade version? Leave a comment to let us know.

Until next time, happy pinning!

Shelly

Would you like to stay up-to-date on all my latest posts? Follow me on Facebook or click “follow my blog via email.”

3 responses to “Homemade Cheeseburger Macaroni Hamburger Helper – Even Better Than the Original

  1. […] Homemade Cheeseburger Macaroni Hamburger Helper – Even Better Than the Original Jan […]

  2. lyoungblood says:

    This look really healthy and delicious… I will soon..post more if you can

Leave a Reply

