Pin Happy Girl

Using Pinterest to Save Money, Time, and Live Life Large

Crockpot Mac and Cheese – Easy and Delicious

on January 2, 2013

It is chilly here in Ohio! When it’s cold, snowy and dark by 5 p.m., like it is now, it makes me want to do the human version of hibernating – eat comfort food while snuggled under a fluffy blanket. And maybe take a nap.

My whole family is feeling the same way, especially my son whose favorite food is macaroni and cheese. That’s why this pin was irresistible:

crockpotmacpin

This recipe is from the Tip Garden blog.

Here are the instructions:

Crockpot Macaroni and Cheese

  • Cooking oil spray
  • 2 cups skim milk
  • 1 (12 oz.) can evaporated milk
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp. pepper
  • 1 1/2 cups preshredded sharp cheddar cheese
  • 2 cups uncooked elbow macaroni
  • Spray the pot of the slow cooker or if using a liner bag, spray the bag well.  In a mixing bowl whisk together milk, evaporated milk, egg, salt and pepper. Pour milk mixture into the crockpot.  Add cheese and uncooked macaroni. Stir gently to mix.
  • Turn slow cooker on low and cook 3-4 hours, or until the custard is set and the macaroni is tender.  (Do not cook more than 4 hours, or the sides will begin to dry out).  Serve at once.

Best of all, this crockpot recipe is my favorite kind – dump all the ingredients in the crockpot and turn it on. No precooking noodles or sauces!

Here are the ingredients:

crockpotmacingred

The only advance prep is mixing the liquids together.

crockpotmacsauce

Then, into the crockpot it all goes.

crockpotmaccook

The macaroni and cheese was cooked to perfection in three hours. Unfortunately, my family got to the dish before I could take a pic. But I was able to capture the last few bites before they were gone.

crockpotmacdone

This macaroni and cheese was excellent – thick, creamy, and cheesy. I know this is going to be a family favorite. My son, our macaroni and cheese connoisseur, gave it a big thumbs up.

Next chilly night, make the family happy and cook up a pot of macaroni and cheese.

Until next time, happy pinning!

Shelly

 Would you like to stay up-to-date on all my latest posts? Follow me on Facebook or click “follow my blog via email.”

3 responses to “Crockpot Mac and Cheese – Easy and Delicious

  1. Jan says:

    Thanks for sharing my mac-n-cheese recipe! I am so glad your family loved it! Hope your post does well!

  2. Mickie says:

    Uh, yeah….I need to try this immediately. I wonder if it would be good with pepper jack cheese?

Leave a Reply

