Pin Happy Girl

Using Pinterest to Save Money, Time, and Live Life Large

Makeup Brush Cleaner – Easy and Works Great!

on December 31, 2012

It’s that time of year when everyone is thinking of cleaning and organizing. So I caught the bug and started looking around my house for where dirt and germs were lurking.

It didn’t take long to find some on my makeup brushes. Embarrassingly, I can’t remember the last time I cleaned them. This pin came to my rescue:

makeupbrushespin

This comes from the Daily Quirk blog.

Here are the instructions:

  • Mix 1 cup of warm water, 1 tablespoon of liquid dish detergent and 1 tablespoon of white vinegar in a cup.
  • Dip the brushes in one by one and give them a good swirl around the cup.
  • Rinse them under lukewarm tap water, reshape and lay flat to dry on a rag overnight.

Here are the wonderfully inexpensive ingredients and my nasty brushes:

makeupsolutioningred

Here’s what the ingredients looked like mixed in a glass jar. I used warm water instead of lukewarm because I didn’t read the instructions carefully. (Don’t worry, it worked marvelously!)

makeupsolutionbefore

That’s the before. Here’s the after:

makeupsolutionafter

Yuck! You can see all the makeup that the cleaner removed. It was simple, too. I just swished each brush around for a minute or so and rinsed. Here are the brushes after cleaning and drying overnight.

makeupbrushes

Don’t they look great? No vinegar smell was left, either.

So, ladies, pull out those dirty brushes and get cleaning! Or, you gentlemen, clean your wife’s brushes as a wonderful surprise.

Until next time, happy pinning!

Shelly

 Would you like to stay up-to-date on all my latest posts? Follow me on Facebook or click “follow my blog via email.”

Leave a Reply

