Pin Happy Girl

Using Pinterest to Save Money, Time, and Live Life Large

Apple Pie Salsa and Cinnamon Sugar Tortilla – Ay, Chihuahua!

on December 19, 2012

I love dessert. I mean, I LOVE dessert, but I always feel guilty eating it. So, it makes me feel a little better when I incorporate fruit. Then I can tell myself it has real food value. You know, fiber, vitamins, antioxidants, things like that. So, I was excited to come across this pin:

applepiesalsa

I was salivating just looking at the picture. And the apple bowl is so cute. Love it! The recipe comes from the Peach Kitchen blog. Here’s the recipe.

Apple Pie Dip & Cinnamon-Sugar Tortilla Chips

Ingredients:

2 cups peeled, cored, and diced apple
2 tbsp fresh lemon/calamansi juice
3 tbsp brown sugar
¼ tsp cinnamon
1 tsp cornstarch dissolved in 1 tsp water

♥ for the chips
5 (6-inch) wheat tortillas
2 tablespoons butter, melted
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1 1/2 tablespoons sugar

Directions:

  • You can either cook this on the stove-top or the microwave.
  • Combine all the dip ingredients in a small pan/ microwaveable bowl except the cornstarch-water mixture.
  • Heat for a few minutes until it’s boiling and has extracted juice from the apple.
  • Add cornstarch-water mixture to the “sauce”
  • Put back in the microwave/stove top until boiling and the sauce has thickened.
  • Set aside. You can serve this warm or chilled. It doesn’t matter. It will taste delicious.
  • Cut tortillas into desired size. {wedges}
  • Put in a slightly greased baking pan.
  • Brush the tortillas with butter.
  • Sprinkle with cinnamon and sugar, and bake at 210º C until golden brown, about 5-8 minutes.
  • Let them cool before serving and serve with the Apple Pie Dip.

I had bought a half bushel of some amazing Fuji apples at a local fruit farm, Lynd’s, when they were having their end of season sale. I always mourn when they close for the year. Don’t you just love the farmer’s markets? All that fresh local produce! Wonderful!

applesforsalsa

I started to chop up the apples with a knife, but then I decided that it was going to take a long time to slice enough apples to make two cups. So, I got out my handy-dandy veggie slicing tool.

appleslicing

This made the work much quicker. It resulted in apples cut into the shape of shoestring potatoes.

applessliced

It worked very well. After I got this to this size, I cut them across to produce small pieces. Here they are with all of the ingredients cooking on the stove.

applessimmering

I let the apples cook for at least 15 minutes at a low to medium temperature while I made the tortillas. They didn’t burn, and it made the apples nice and tender.

I cut the tortillas with four cuts, like a pizza or pie, making 8 pieces per tortilla. My daughter liked brushing on the butter. I also mixed the cinnamon and sugar together before sprinkling it on the buttered tortillas so that each tortilla would get an even amount of cinnamon and sugar. Here they are ready to go into the oven.

Cinnamon tortillas for apple pie salsa

I baked them for 12 minutes, but they never got golden brown. That could be because I didn’t use whole wheat tortillas. I was using up tortillas that I had left over from my baked chicken fajitas. Maybe next time I will try broiling them. I think that definitely would get them golden brown.

Here is the final product out of the oven.

cinnamontortillasbaked

And, yes, one is missing. My family can never wait!

Here is the apple pie salsa finished and ready to eat. Miracle of all miracles, it doesn’t have a dent in it. I actually got a picture before someone dug in.

applepiesalsafinished

This stuff was absolutely heavenly, despite the fact that I could not get the tortillas golden brown! Those Peach Kitchen people know what they are doing. My family could not eat this fast enough. I thought blood was going to be drawn over the last tortilla. I would say that of all the Pinterest recipes we have tried so far, this has been our favorite.

I would like to try it with whole wheat tortillas next time to boost the healthiness factor even more.

If you try this recipe, let me know how it goes.

Until next time, happy pinning!

Shelly

 Would you like to stay up-to-date on all my latest posts? Follow me on Facebook or click “follow my blog via email.”

 

One response to “Apple Pie Salsa and Cinnamon Sugar Tortilla – Ay, Chihuahua!

  1. […] For lunch it is smart to just slowly indulge in fall appetizers throughout the day to prevent over eating! Some of my personal favorites are buffalo chicken wing dip, apple pie salsa, and stuffed hot peppers. For the chicken wing dip my family makes it a little differently because we like to cut the chicken into small chucks rather than shredding it then mixing in some hot sauce, cut up celery, and a little blue cheese. As for the apple pie salsa here is a recipe that I tried last year and loved (it goes best with pita chips) https://pinhappygirl.wordpress.com/2012/12/19/apple-pie-salsa-and-cinnamon-sugar-tortilla-ay-chihuahu… […]

Leave a Reply

