Pin Happy Girl

Using Pinterest to Save Money, Time, and Live Life Large

Baked Chicken Fajitas – Fajitas without the Sizzling Mess

on December 12, 2012

I love Mexican, and fajitas are some of the best in my opinion. Plus they are not half bad for you either. So, this pin looked tempting.

The pin came from Elizabeth Alejandro’s blog which she got from the Real Mom Kitchen blog. Here is the recipe:

Ingredients
1 pound boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cut into strips
2 Tbsp vegetable oil
2 tsp chili powder
2 tsp cumin
1/2 tsp garlic powder
1/2 tsp dried oregano
1/4 tsp salt
1 (15 oz) can diced tomatoes with green chilies
1 medium onion, sliced
1 large bell pepper, seeded and sliced
12 flour tortillas
Toppings such as cheese, sour cream, and guacamole – if desired

Instructions

  • Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Place chicken strips in a greased 13×9 baking dish.
  • In a small bowl combine the oil, chili powder, cumin, garlic powder, dried oregano, and salt
  • Drizzle the spice mixture over the chicken and stir to coat.
  • Next add the tomatoes, peppers, and onions to the dish and stir to combine.
  • Bake uncovered for 20-25 minutes or until chicken is cooked through and the vegetables are tender. Serve on tortillas with desired toppings.

I gathered the supplies and thought I had everything I needed. Unfortunately, I found out I didn’t have cumin. I didn’t want to go to the store because it was time for the family to eat, so I made a substitution. I found that I had fajita seasoning, and it had cumin in it. So I substituted 1 teaspoon of fajita seasoning for the cumin. Since salt was the main ingredient of the fajita seasoning, I left the salt out.

To make the recipe even healthier, I used olive oil for the vegetable oil and I sprayed cooking spray in the dish instead of using grease. Both worked very well. Here is what it looked like going into the oven.

I put it in to bake and took it out at the end of the 20 minutes. My daughter immediately dished it out, took a bite and said it was gross. The chicken was still practically raw! It took 15 extra minutes of baking. So, total baking time was 35 minutes.

Then everyone dug in, and it was fabulous! The veggies cooked just right—not too crisp and not to soft. The spices were great and made the chicken flavorful but not overpowering or too hot.  Here’s what it looked like when finished. My family had already dug in. (One day, I’ll get a pic of my finished product before the hordes devour my dish!)

My husband made what he called a fajita sandwich.

It seems that every pin requires some type of modification to make it work, but so far with modifications, I end up with some terrific treats for me and my family. So, very worth it. What is your experience? Do you usually have to make some modifications when you try pins?

Happy pinning till next time!

Shelly

 Would you like to stay up-to-date on all my latest posts? Follow me on Facebook or click “follow my blog via email.”

 

Leave a Reply

