Pin Happy Girl

Using Pinterest to Save Money, Time, and Live Life Large

Pizza Pasta Dinner Delight!

on November 28, 2012

Who can resist this pin? I mean really. Lots of cheese, fatty meats—awesome! It’s one of those delectable looking not-heart-healthy creations that we all fill our boards with. (If only we could be half as inspired by broccoli!!)

Crockpot pizza pasta. The recipe is from the Cooking with Joey blog.

Usually when I go for using my crockpot, I’m one of those gals who likes recipes that just let you throw all the ingredients in the pot in the morning, and when you come home, your house smells like heaven and it’s time to eat.

This is definitely not one of those recipes. It requires you to chop multiple vegetables, shred cheese (I don’t buy pre-shredded to save some bucks), cook two different meats, and layer stuff, all before you even turn the thing on. Here’s a little preview of the mess you will create.

But after all the cooking and chopping, the layering starts, and you start getting really ready to eat this stuff. I could barely keep the family from drooling all over it. Here’s a couple pics during the layering.

I was a little worried that there wouldn’t be enough ingredients to take up the room in my very large crockpot. But, it actually filled it up almost to the top

Within an hour, my house did smell like heaven. I could barely keep my daughter away from the crockpot. The pin says to cook it five or six hours. I checked at three and a half hours, and it was done.

While it did take some time, I give this recipe a big thumbs-up for taste, and so does my daughter. Even after she was full, she kept saying, “It’s so good; I just want to eat a little more.” Here’s how it looks after it’s been cooked and served. See those layers? Yum!

We can eat for days, and probably still have leftovers to freeze. I like to freeze leftovers in individual serving size plastic containers. Then, when the cupboards are bare, we’re in a hurry, or I need something quick to take in my work lunch, we have ready-made “homemade frozen dinners.”

This recipe would also be great for potlucks. I can assure you that your dish would be the belle of the buffet.

A little note on some minor modifications I made: I hate mushrooms, so I left them out. My daughter can be picky about large chunks of veggies. So, though it called for more coarsely chopped onions and peppers, I diced them to make them more kid friendly. Also, instead of tomato sauce, I just used the two jars of spaghetti sauce I had on hand (and had gotten a great deal on at the store!).

If you try this recipe, let me know how it works or suggest another recipe pin that I should try.

Until next time, happy pinning!

Shelly

 Would you like to stay up-to-date on all my latest posts? Follow me on Facebook or click “follow my blog via email.”

 

One response to “Pizza Pasta Dinner Delight!

  1. Kenn Kiser says:

    It was delicious! Yum! 🙂

Leave a Reply

