Pin Happy Girl

Using Pinterest to Save Money, Time, and Live Life Large

A Day at the Beach Cupcakes

on November 23, 2012

We were looking for a treat to remind us of summer since the weather has turned chilly here in Ohio. I came upon this pin of adorable beach themed cupcakes.

Day at the Beach Cupcake Pin

But, it’s one of those dreaded pins with no instructions. You know the kind—click through and all you get is another photo.

But we were not deterred, daring Pinners that we are. So we dove in. (Get it?… dove in, the beach?… OK. Cheesy.)

We gathered our supplies.

I decided we were too busy today to deal with cake from scratch, so I got one of my favorite cake mixes—Duncan Hines. I really like the Devil’s Food. So fluffy and good flavor.

And, I couldn’t find Fruit Stripe gum, which it looks like they used to create the beach chairs. I was disappointed because it reminds me of being a kid. Back then we loved it. Take a piece, chew for ten minutes until it runs out of flavor and grab the next piece. The whole pack was gone in about an hour. (Now days, of course, I would yell at my kids for doing that.)

So Juicy Fruit was our substitute. Not as pretty as the stripes, but the yellow was cheerful.

I figured out quickly that just molding the gum into a chair shape was not going to work, because it flattened out quickly. So, I let them lay on their sides for 24 hours to harden. That worked OK, but they still sagged after a while, and I would suggest letting them harden longer.

After baking the cupcakes and letting them cool, I iced them about three-quarters with white icing. Then I rolled them on a small plate covered in brown sugar.

Next, add the blue icing to the remaining top. Slap on a gum chair, a pretty umbrella, and a gumball beach ball, and Voila! An adorable day at the beach cupcake.

My daughter joined me in the fun. She thought it was something she could easily master, and she loved the look. Here are our final products.

They were a hit. I successfully conquered a no directions pin. I’m on top of the world! And on a beach.

Until next time, happy pinning!

Shelly

 Would you like to stay up-to-date on all my latest posts? Follow me on Facebook or click “follow my blog via email.”

3 responses to “A Day at the Beach Cupcakes

  1. Kenn says:

    The cupcakes tasted every bit as delicious as they look.

  2. chelset says:

    I love these! To me, everything looks impossible to replicate on pinterest ..but these look great. you did a beautiful job. and I love the step by step pictures! maybe I’ll be bold enough to give them a whirl 🙂

  3. pinhappygirl says:

    Thanks! I’ve send the wonderfully creative things you create on your blog. I’m sure it would not be a problem for you.

Leave a Reply

