Pin Happy Girl

Using Pinterest to Save Money, Time, and Live Life Large

Melting Snowman Cookies—A delicious Reese’s Cup taste in a super cute cookie

on December 5, 2012

I was headed to my Aunt Susan’s for dinner, and I always like to make something baked that’s a really cute surprise for my cousins’ little ones. They are all in the four to ten year range, and that’s really an age that appreciates an adorable baked good. So when I found this pin, I knew it was perfect:

The recipe comes from Better Homes and Gardens.

Plus, it was chocolate peanut butter and included Reese’s Cups. In my experience, those two factors pretty much guarantee success.

Here is the recipe:

Chocolaty Melting Snowmen

Yield: 20 cookies
Prep 50 mins
Bake 9 mins to 11 mins  per batch
Oven 350°

Ingredients

    • ½ cup shortening
    • ½ cup peanut butter
    • ½ cup granulated sugar
    • ½ cup packed brown sugar
    • 1 teaspoon baking powder
    • ¼ teaspoon salt
    • 1/8 teaspoon baking soda
    • 1 egg
    • 3 tablespoons milk
    • ½ teaspoon vanilla
    • ¼ cup unsweetened cocoa powder
    • 1 ½ cups all-purpose flour
    • 1 pound vanilla-flavored candy coating, coarsely chopped
    • 20 bite-size chocolate-covered peanut butter cups, unwrapped
    • Brown and orange sprinkles or other candies and/or tinted frosting

 1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. In a large mixing bowl beat shortening and peanut butter with an electric mixer on medium to high speed for 30 seconds. Beat in the granulated sugar, brown sugar, baking powder, salt, and baking soda until combined, scraping sides of bowl occasionally. Beat in egg, milk, and vanilla until combined. Beat in the cocoa powder and as much of the flour as you can with the mixer. Stir in any remaining flour.

 2. Shape dough into twenty 1 3/4-inch balls. Place balls 2 inches apart on ungreased cookie sheets.

 3. Bake for 9 to 11 minutes or until edges are just firm. Cool on cookie sheet for 2 minutes. Transfer to a wire rack and let cool.

 4. Line a baking sheet with waxed paper. Place cooled cookies on prepared baking sheet. In a medium microwave-safe bowl microwave candy coating on 50% power for 2 1/2 to 3 minutes or until melted and smooth, stirring every 30 seconds. Spoon melted coating over each cookie to cover cookie and resemble melted snow. While coating is still tacky, add a peanut butter cup for a top hat and decorate with sprinkles or other candies to resemble snowman faces (If using frosting to make snowman faces, add it when the candy coating is dry.) Let stand until set.

I gathered the ingredients and mixed. The recipe said that you might have to mix the last bit of flour by hand, but my mixer did just fine. Here’s what the batter looked like.

It’s nice and thick and easily forms into balls with your hand.

The recipe calls for 1 and ¾ inch balls of dough, which is bigger than I am used to making for the average cookie. But you will need a ball this size because they don’t spread out very much on baking, and you’ll need room for the decorations. So don’t skimp on the size of your dough ball. Here is a batch ready for the oven.

I know; they look like little poop balls, don’t they? But don’t worry; they will taste great!

Mine required 11 minutes in the oven. They come out looking like little piles of dirt. Not exactly pretty, but perfect for the finished melted-snowman-on-dirt look.

I couldn’t find orange and brown sprinkles separately, so I purchased rainbow sprinkles, then I dumped them out on to a plate and searched through them for ones that looked appropriately sized for long carrot noses and small brown eyes. Great job for the kids if you are doing it together as a project.

The recipe calls for a one pound package of vanilla candy melts, but the only size I could find was 12 ounces. Fortunately, that worked perfectly for covering the cookies. Plus I love Wilton’s candy melts. They always melt so well, and they taste terrific. Yum! Here they are after they melt. Don’t you just want to dig in with a spoon?!

I poured some on the first cookie, popped a Reese’s Cup and the sprinkles on, and this was my first cookie.

I decided the Reese’s Cup whole was way too large for the cookie, and I put the carrot nose on sideways so it looks like a smile.

So, I decided to cut the Reese’s Cups in half for the hat. That worked perfectly, so the rest of the cookies got half of a Reese’s each for their hat. Then I added the sprinkles. This was no small task because I was taking some high dose Prednisone for my chronic migraines, and it makes my hands shake like nobody’s business! Good thing it’s supposed to look kind of sloppy and off-kilter!

One problem was in dribbling the candy, it left dribble marks across the other cookies. I combated that problem by pouring the candy directly from the bowl onto the cookie instead of spooning it on. Also, it worked well to use the Reese’s Cup hat to smooth the icing out somewhat as you place it. That distributed the icing and erased some of the dribble marks. Here are the final products.

Not as perfectly decorated as the pin, for sure. But they still came out pretty cute.

These things are decadent. The cookies are really solid and rich. With the addition of the candy coating and the Reese’s Cup, it’s potent. They are awesome, but I couldn’t eat more than one at a time. My family disagreed with me on that, though. They loved them. We cut one in quarters to try before we took them. (I never take an untested dish to someone’s home. Did that once and it was a disaster!)

Not to brag (OK, I am), but they were the most popular dessert there. And I was up against three different pies, a chocolate cake and two other cookies. Not one cookie made it home. Everyone thought they were adorable.

Happy pinning till next time!

 Would you like to stay up-to-date on all my latest posts? Follow me on Facebook or click “follow my blog via email.”

 


2 responses to “Melting Snowman Cookies—A delicious Reese’s Cup taste in a super cute cookie

  1. aoifenica says:

    Those are ao cute! I’ll have to try them out!

  2. Denise Doyle says:

    I made these last year and they turned out so cute! I used a roll of gingerbread cookies and just sliced and baked. I also used Wilton candy melts and it was so good and easy to use. I couldn’t find the mini Reese’s so I bought the regular sized ones and cute them in half. They worked out fine but some of them did crack as I was cutting them but that wasn’t a big deal. I will use the mini ones this year. I plan on making them to take to a holiday cookie party. Can’t wait to make them again!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 242 other followers

